Minister Donohoe appoints Ms. Maeve Carton as Chairperson of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA)

27th November, 2018

Minister thanks outgoing chair Mr Willie Walsh for exceptional contribution to NTMA


The Minister for Finance and Public Expenditure and Reform, Paschal Donohoe TD, has today (Tuesday) announced the appointment of Ms. Maeve Carton as the Chairperson of the National Treasury Management Agency (NTMA) effective from 1st January 2019.


Ms Carton succeeds Willie Walsh who will stand down at the end of the year. 


Ms Carton is a former Director and Board Member of Irish-headquartered global building materials group CRH plc, where she held a number of senior executive roles, including Group Finance Director and Group Transformation Director.


Ms Carton has been a member of the NTMA Board since the board was established in 2014, following the enactment of the National Treasury Management Agency (Amendment) Act 2014 which introduced new corporate governance arrangements for the Agency.


Commenting on the appointment, Minister Donohoe said: “Maeve Carton brings outstanding international financial and corporate governance expertise to the role of the Chairperson of the NTMA and I wish her well in the role.”


“I thank outgoing Chairperson Willie Walsh for his exceptional contribution to the NTMA over the past five years both as Chairperson of the Agency and before that as Chair of its Advisory Committee.  Over that time he oversaw important and far reaching changes in the Agency’s corporate governance and has ensured that it is well positioned to carry out the wide range of complex and challenging mandates it performs on behalf of the State.”


“I will now begin the process of appointing a new member of the NTMA’s Board through the Public Appointment Service.”