Minister Donohoe presents awards to Iarnród Éireann Best Station Award winners

13th October, 2014

  • Hazelhatch & Celbridge is Ireland’s Best Station
  • Mullingar, Killarney, Westport, Malahide win regional awards

Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, Paschal Donohoe T.D., presented awards to best station award winners at the annual Iarnród Éireann Best Station Awards which took place today at Iarnród Éireann’s Inchicore Engineering Works.

Hazelhatch has been named Overall Best Train Station in Ireland. The Station plays a key role in the commuter town of Celbridge and the surrounding area. The Station was significantly upgraded as part of the Kildare Route Project; while still maintaining the old world charm of the original station building.  The Staff at Hazelhatch & Celbridge were commended for their hard work and commitment to their customers.

David Franks, Chief Executive of Iarnród Éireann said: “Winning the title of Best Station in Ireland is a high honour and I congratulate Patricia Bermingham and Joe Brophy who work so hard to give our customers a positive experience as they pass through the station every day.  Our customers are the most important part of our business so it is fitting that they should choose the winner of the Best Station Awards”

The winners are chosen by public vote, with almost 15,000 customers rating their stations as part of this year’s awards, by Customer Information, Station Appearance, Staff Helpfulness and Staff Appearance.

Patricia and Joe collected the award on behalf of Hazelhatch & Celbridge, along with Assistant Station Manager Heuston & District, Gerry Dalton. The magnificent crystal locomotive trophy was presented to the team and it will adorn Hazelhatch & Celbridge station throughout the next year.

Iarnród Éireann Best Station Awards

The Minister for Transport, Tourism and Sport, who was on hand to present awards said: ‘I would like to congratulate the nominees and, in particular, the overall winner of the Best Station Award 2014 and the winner of the Best Customer Service Award 2014.  One of Iarnród Éireann’s core company values is ‘to work together for our customers’ and this event espouses that value here today. Ensuring that public transport remains an attractive option for people is key to its success now and into the future. The hard work undertaken by staff and managers in the pursuit of excellence at stations is central to that. I commend everyone for their efforts’

Regional winners

Hazelhatch & Celbridge also collected the title of Best Commuter Station, beating off competition from Docklands and Arklow.

In Leinster, Mullingar emerged victorious, with Station Manager, Jimmy Feeney leading the team to collect the award.  Portlaoise and Athlone were highly commended in Leinster.

Munster saw Killarney taking the top title once again. Catherine Cahill, Station Manager, Killarney was proud to pick up the award.  Farranfore and Cork stations were highly commended by customers.

Last year’s overall winners, Westport were once again victorious in the Connacht category. Station Manager, Anne Elliot was delighted to pick up their award. Ballinasloe and Carrick-on-Shannon were highly commended in the category.

The Best DART station for 2014 was Malahide Station with special mention going to the beautiful garden, which is maintained by the local community. It beat Pearse and Sandycove & Glasthule. Mark Jolley collected the award for Malahide.  

Customer Service Award

In addition to regional winners A special award was presented at today’s ceremony. Seapoint DART station collected the special crystal steam locomotive trophy for Best Customer Service.  As a busy DART station Seapoint provides customer care of the highest standards.  Customers recognised this in the voting giving top marks to Seapoint for customer service.  Paul Duffy and all the staff at Seapoint were commended for their excellent customer service to all those that pass through the busy DART station; they always have a friendly smile and a helpful word knowing many of the commuters by name.

A spokesperson for Iarnród Éireann said We are delighted that so many customers took the opportunity to vote in this year’s Best Station Awards.  By encouraging keen competition between stations, we can raise the standards of customer care at all stations for the benefit of everyone who travels with us.”



OVERALL BEST STATION – Hazelhatch & Celbridge 

Best Munster Station – Killarney

Highly Commended – Farranfore, Cork

Best Connacht Station – Westport

Highly Commended – Carrick-on-Shannon, Ballinasloe

Best Leinster Station – Mullingar

Highly Commended – Portlaoise, Athlone

Best DART Station – Malahide

Highly Commended – Sandycove Glasthule, Pearse

Best Commuter Station – Hazelhatch & Celbridge

Highly Commended – Arklow, Docklands

 Best Customer Service – Seapoint

Voting was conducted through an online poll and voting at stations, with almost 15,000 people voting as part of the competition. Customers were asked to rate their station under the following criteria; Customer Information, Station Appearance, Staff Helpfulness and Staff Appearance.   The votes were cast earlier this year.

The Iarnród Éireann Best Station Awards reward excellence in customer facilities, cleanliness, innovation and customer service in the country’s 144 railway stations.